Marie Connolly Books

My Friday Film Reviews

Devotion, a story of love and desire https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2022/11/25/devotion-a-story-of-love-and-desire-fidelta/

Compartment No 6 https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2022/11/18/compartment-no-6/

Karen Pirie https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2022/11/11/karen-pirie/

Mrs Harris Goes to Paris https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2022/11/04/mrs-harris-goes-to-paris/

This England https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2022/10/28/this-england/

The Suspect https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2022/10/07/the-suspect/

Madam Black https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2022/09/30/madam-black/

Life After Life https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2022/09/23/life-after-life/

See How They Run https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2022/09/16/see-how-they-run/

Love and Anarchy https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2022/09/09/love-and-anarchy/

The Essex Serpent https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2022/09/02/the-essex-serpent/

Magpie Murders https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2022/08/26/magpie-murders/

Decision to Leave https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2022/08/19/decision-to-leave/

Lost Illusions https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2022/08/12/lost-illusions/

Party Tricks https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2022/08/05/party-tricks/

Benediction https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2022/07/29/benediction/

Sherwood https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2022/07/22/sherwood/

Rohe Kōreporepo - The Swamp, The Sacred Place https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2022/07/15/rohe-koreporepo-the-swamp-the-sacred-place/

Ted Lasso https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2022/06/30/ted-lasso/

Lunana https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2022/06/24/lunana/

Borgen https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2022/06/17/borgen-the-power-and-the-glory/

Mothering Sunday https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2022/06/10/mothering-sunday/

The IPCRESS File https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2022/06/03/the-ipcress-file/

The Pembrokeshire Murders https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2022/05/27/the-pembrokeshire-murders/

Inventing Anna https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2022/05/20/inventing-anna/

Elizabeth: A portrait in parts https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2022/05/13/elizabeth-a-portrait-in-parts/

Samurai Gourmet https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2022/05/06/samurai-gourmet/

Operation Mincemeat https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2022/04/29/operation-mincemeat/

Glória https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2022/04/22/gloria/

Anxious People https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2022/04/15/anxious-people/

The Girl from Oslo https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2022/04/01/the-girl-from-oslo/

Bergman Island  https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2022/03/25/bergman-island/

Midnight at the Pera Palace https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2022/03/18/midnight-at-the-pera-palace/

Death on the Nile https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2022/03/11/death-on-the-nile/

The Chelsea Detective https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2022/03/04/the-chelsea-detective/

The Lost Daughter https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2022/02/25/the-lost-daughter/

The Long Call https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2022/02/18/the-long-call/

The Tragedy of Macbeth https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2022/02/11/the-tragedy-of-macbeth/

The Durrells https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2022/02/04/the-durrells/

Hugo https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2021/12/24/hugo/

Rev. https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2021/12/17/rev/

Passing https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2021/12/10/passing/

Bloodlands https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2021/12/03/bloodlands/

The Power of the Dog https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2021/11/26/the-power-of-the-dog/

Annette https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2021/10/15/annette/ 

Back to Life https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2021/10/22/back-to-life/ 

Lamb https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2021/10/29/lamb/ 

Vigil https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2021/11/05/vigil/ 

The Green Knight https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2021/11/12/the-green-knight/ 

The Chestnut Man https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2021/11/19/the-chestnut-man/

The Cook of Castamar https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2021/08/20/la-cocinera-de-castamar-the-cook-of-castamar/ 

The Chair https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2021/08/27/the-chair/ 

Startup https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2021/09/03/startup/  

Post Mortem - No One Dies in Skarnes https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2021/09/10/post-mortem-no-one-dies-in-skarnes/ 

Smother https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2021/09/17/smother/ 

The Young Pope (1 & 2)  https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2021/09/24/the-young-pope-series-1-and-2/ 

Masum (Innocent) https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2021/10/08/masum-innocent/

Official Secrets https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2021/08/06/official-secrets/ 

Botticelli, Florence and the Medici https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2021/08/13/botticelli-florence-and-the-medici/ 

The Cook of Castamar https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2021/08/20/la-cocinera-de-castamar-the-cook-of-castamar/ 

The Chair https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2021/08/27/the-chair/ 

Startup https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2021/09/03/startup/  

The Prado Museum - A place of wonders https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2021/06/25/the-prado-museum-a-place-of-wonders/ 

The Woman in the Window https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2021/07/02/the-woman-in-the-window/ 

Keeping Faith https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2021/07/09/keeping-faith/ 

Call My Agent https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2021/07/16/call-my-agent/ 

Herself https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2021/07/23/herself/ 

Contratiempo https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2021/07/30/contratiempo-the-invisible-guest/

The Father https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2021/04/30/the-father/ 

Fargo https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2021/05/07/fargo-series-3/ 

Kororā https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2021/05/14/korora/ 

Atiye - The Gift https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2021/05/21/atiye-the-gift/

Deadwind https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2021/05/28/deadwind/ 

Six Minutes to Midnight https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2021/06/04/six-minutes-to-midnight/ 

Hunted https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2021/06/11/hunted/ 

Percy vs Goliath https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2021/06/18/percy-vs-goliath/

Ammonite https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2021/11/10/ammonite/

Lupin https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2021/03/12/lupin/ 

Fallet https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2021/03/19/fallet/ 

Upstart Crow https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2021/03/26/upstart-crow/

The Courier https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2021/04/09/the-courier/ 

Shetland https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2021/04/16/shetland/ 

Concrete Cowboy https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2021/04/23/concrete-cowboy/

Ethos https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2021/01/01/ethos/ 

The Mess We Leave Behind https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2021/01/08/the-mess-we-leave-behind/ 

The Dry https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2021/01/15/the-dry/  

Guilt https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2021/01/22/guilt/ 

Bridgerton https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2021/01/29/bridgerton/

Enola Holmes https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2021/02/04/enola-holmes/ 

The Dig https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2021/02/12/the-dig/ 

Detectorists https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2021/02/18/detectorists/ 

Balthazar https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2021/02/26/balthazar/

The Gulf https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2020/12/11/the-gulf/ 

Stateless https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2020/12/18/stateless/

A Trash Truck Christmas https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2020/12/25/a-trash-truck-christmas/

 MillionYenWomen  https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2020/11/11/million-yen-women/

A Suitable Boy https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2020/11/11/a-suitable-boy/ 

Young Wallander https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2020/11/11/young-wallander/  

The Chalet  https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2020/11/13/the-chalet/

Money Heist https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2020/11/13/money-heist/

The Secret City https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2020/11/20/the-secret-city/

The Crown  https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2020/11/27/the-crown/

The Queen’s Gambit https://marieconnollybooks.com/Blog/2020/12/04/the-queens-gambit/  

My academic books

The following books remain in print and are available at:

Service Navigation
(Macmillan International 2020)

Strategic Leadership in Social Work Education (Springer 2019)

Beyond the Risk Paradigm in Child Protection (Macmillan International 2017)

Social Work from Theory to Practice 3rd edition (Cambridge University Press 2019)

Social Work Contexts and Practice 4th edition (Oxford University Press 2017)

Understanding Violence (Canterbury University Press 2013)

Understanding Child and Family Welfare (Macmillan 2012)

Morals Rights and Practice (Jessica Kingsley 2008)

Lives Cut Short (2007) is freely downloadable at Office of the Children’s Commissioner 

Culture and Child Protection (Jessica Kingsley 2006)

Effective Participatory Practice (Aldine de Gruyter 1999, Japanese edition published 2005 by Yuhikaku, Tokyo) available at  https://protect-au.mimecast.com/s/1lBCCyoNK5UrE2ND8UZDuFg?domain=abebooks.com

My Children’s Storybooks - the Our Backyard South Island Series

My Children’s Storybooks - the Our Backyard South Island Series
In 2020, when The Covid-19 lockdown stopped tourists coming to Aotearoa and our Prime Minister encouraged us to ‘see our own backyard’, illustrator Jenny Lee and I thought it was the perfect time to get out and see some of the special places we have on our doorstep. The result has been the development of our South Island place-based travel stories for children. It seems that the lives of many kiwi kids are increasingly confined to narrow spaces - the shopping mall, and the all-powerful internet. But we know there are alternatives. In our books we aim engage children in travelling adventures that will create deeper connections to Aotearoa and the beautiful places we have access to. Developing a sense of place is important to a child’s sense of belonging and identity. Through our books we want to nurture a sense of adventure and an early connection to Aotearoa - a connection to Our Backyard for all kiwi kids, no matter where they may live. Our six-book South Island series takes Ella and Tai on a set of special adventures where they see beaches, bush, wildlife and some of the wonderful geological features that Aotearoa is world famous for. 

Ella goes to Akaroa (2020), Our Backyard Books (https://www.ourbackyard.store/product-page/ella-goes-to-akaroa

Ella goes to Punakaiki (2020), Our Backyard Books (https://www.ourbackyard.store/product-page/ella-goes-to-punakaiki)

Ella & Tai go to Rakiura Stewart Island (2021) Our Backyard Books  (https://www.ourbackyard.store/product-page/ella-tai-go-to-rakiura-stewart-island)

Ella & Tai’s BIG trip South (2021) Our Backyard Books  (https://www.ourbackyard.store/product-page/ella-tai-s-big-trip-south)

Ella & Tai see Golden Bay (2021) Our Backyard Books (https://www.ourbackyard.store/product-page/ella-tai-see-golden-bay)

Ella, Tai & the train to Picton (2021) Our Backyard Books (https://www.ourbackyard.store/product-page/ella-tai-the-train-to-picton)